Sad news about Year’s Best Fantasy & Horror

Posted on January 13, 2009

6


Gavin Grant made an annoucement today to the effect that this year’s YBF&H won’t be published. It seems possible that the series will be revived at some point, but for the moment that’s the end of what I’ve always thought of as the best annual collection of fantastical stories out there.

I eulogise at length, but it should suffice to say that every volume if YBF&H I opened I discovered a writer that was new to me, and that I instantly loved. You really can’t ask for any more than that.

Many thanks to editors Ellen Datlow, Kelly Link, Gavin Grant, and (previously) Terry Windling for going to such great extremes to provide such an eclectic, exciting range of fiction, and to everyone at St Martin’s press for making it happen every year.

Posted in: Anthologies