NAF : THEY MIGHT BE GIANTS / Here Comes Science

Posted on May 21, 2010

5


If you know me and came to my house for the first time I’m sure, on browsing the monolithic stalagmites of CDs, you’d totally expect to see a healthy showing from They Might Be Giants. You’d be disappointed, and maybe a little perplexed. I’m not sure I can explain it either because, after all, quirky and intelligent are one of the main girders of my personal rock’n’roll skyscraper. But there you have it, I’ve never owned a TMBG album. Until today.

And I’m blaming my almost wilful neglect of these iconic quirksters on the fact that I had no idea that their new issue Here Comes Science (with They Might Be Giants) is one in a series of albums of educational songs aimed at children. Not even after listening to it all the way through. I just thought it was a collection of wonderful, instantly-singable tunes albeit with possibly psychotically scientifically-accurate lyrics.

So I learned a lot of things today. I learned that “Iron is a metal, you see it every day. Oxygen, eventually, will make it rust away”. I learned that “The sun is a miasma of incandescent plasma”. And I learned that “Roy G Biv is a colourful man and he proudly stands at the rainbow’s end, and his name spells out the whole colour spectrum”. Mostly, though, I learned that I really ought to buy more TMBG albums.

So, I’m a slow learner.

Posted in: Music